# CLICK ITosTICKET

Colorado’s Rural Click It or Ticket Campaign
April 1 — April 7, 2013

FACT SHEET

In an effort to save more lives on Colorado’s rural roadways, state and local law enforcement will be out in
force April 1 — April 7 with a special rural Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement mobilization.

Here’s why...

» 101 unrestrained fatalities on rural Colorado roadways in 2012.

» 60% of people who died on rural roadways were NOT wearing a seat belt (compared to 36% in urban
areas).

» Seat belt use is much lower in rural areas of Colorado than in urban areas

High-risk categories (men and pickup truck drivers):

» Pickup trucks are twice as likely to roll over in a crash.

» 39 people who were Killed in a pickup truck were NOT wearing a seat belt (2012).

» 61 men between the ages of 18-34 who died in a crash were NOT wearing a seat belt (2012)

Reality check:

» In 2012, 66% of crash victims without a seat belt were partially or totally ejected.

» Regular seat belt use is the single most effective way to protect people and reduce fatalities in motor
vehicle crashes.

» Simply buckling your seat belt can reduce medical and legal expenses, lost wages, lost productivity, high
insurance rates and other burdensome costs that all citizens share because of rollovers and vehicle
crashes.

> It's the law to wear a seat belt in Colorado.

Click It or Ticket Enforcement:
» Colorado has a secondary enforcement law for adult drivers and front-seat passengers.
o Drivers can be ticketed for violating the seat belt law if they are stopped for another traffic
violation.
o Click It or Ticket enforcement focuses on speeding and aggressive drivers.
o During a similar rural enforcement period in 2012, 2,131 seat belt violations were cited.
o Seat belt fines are $65 per violation.

» Colorado's child-passenger safety law is primary enforcement, meaning a driver can be stopped and
ticketed if an officer sees an unrestrained or improperly restrained child in the vehicle. Fines for violating
child passenger safety laws are a minimum of $82 per violation.

o All child safety seats must be used according to the manufacturer’s instructions and follow its
weight and height limits.

o Babies must ride in the back seat of the vehicle in a rear-facing car seat until they are at least 1
year old and 20 pounds.

o 1-year-olds over 20 pounds, as well as 2 & 3-year olds must ride in either a rear-facing or
forward-facing car seat.

o Children ages 4 until 8 must remain in a child safety restraint. For most kids in this age group,
that means a booster seat, but children can remain in a forward-facing car seat if the weight limit
of the seat allows.

o Children age 8 and older may use a booster seat or vehicle seat belt.

o Find more information at www.carseatscolorado.com

» Colorado has primary enforcement for teen drivers under 18. All passengers must buckle up.


http://www.carseatscolorado.com/

