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Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)

• Nonprofit, independent research and communications organization

• IIHS mission to save lives, prevent injuries, and reduce property 

damage in crashes

• Research goal to determine what works and what doesn’t                     

to improve highway safety

• Funded by automobile insurance companies
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Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)

• Seeks to increase amount of supervised practice driving

• Keeps young drivers out of hazardous situations initially 

• Limits when and with whom teenagers can drive, once licensed

• Often has the effect of delaying licensure



www.iihs.org

Example graduated licensing laws

Learner’s phase

• Minimum of 6 months beginning no sooner than 16

• Minimum of 30 hours of supervised driving, certified by parents

Intermediate phase

• Nighttime driving restriction starting no later than 9 or 10 pm 

• Passenger restriction allowing no more than 1 young passenger

Minimum age eligible for full license

• At least 1 year after start of intermediate phase, preferably          

age 18
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IIHS rating system
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IIHS ratings of graduated licensing laws
July 1996, using current rating system
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IIHS ratings of graduated licensing laws
July 2009
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Licensing requirements in 1995 vs. 2009
July 2009

number of states + DC

1995 2009

minimum learner’s age 16 or older 8 8 + DC

learner’s permit for at least 6 months 0 46 + DC

30 or more hours of certified driving 0 38 + DC

night driving restriction once licensed 9 48 + DC

passenger restriction once licensed 0 42 + DC



www.iihs.org

Effects of US graduated licensing programs

age groups crash reductions

Florida 15-17 9%

Iowa 16-17 25-30%

Michigan 16 29%

North Carolina 16 23%

Ohio 16-17 23%

Wisconsin 16 14%
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Special issue:

teen driving age

September 9, 2008



www.iihs.org

Minimum intermediate licensing age
July 2009
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Teenage fatal crash rates in New Jersey (license 
at 17) and Connecticut (license at 16)
Drivers in fatal crashes per 100,000 population, 1992-96

age New Jersey Connecticut

16 4.4 20.7

17 32.3 31.1

16-17 18.2 25.9
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Special issue:

teen drivers

May 7, 2009
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National study of effects of graduated licensing on 
fatal crash rates

• Examined overall IIHS ratings of teenage licensing laws and 

specific provisions

• Examined per population fatal crashes of teenage drivers (ages 

15-17)

• Quarterly state-level data during 1996-2007

– Fatal crash rate per population of teenagers

– Fatal crash rate of drivers ages 30-59 accounted for state crash 

trends, etc.
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Percent change in fatal crashes of 15-19 year-olds 
per population for good, fair, or marginal rating
Compared with poor rating, 1996-2007
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Percent change in fatal crashes of 15-17 year-olds 
per population for good, fair, or marginal rating
Compared with poor rating, 1996-2007
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Effects of delaying age of licensure
Percent change in fatal crashes of 15-17 year-olds 

per population, 1996-2007
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Effects of passenger restrictions
Percent change in fatal crashes of 15-17 year-olds per population,

compared with allowing 2 or more passengers, 1996-2007
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Effects of nighttime driving restrictions
Percent change in fatal crashes of 15-17 year-olds 

per population, 1996-2007
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Effects of delaying age of permit
Percent change in fatal crashes of 15-17 year-olds 

per population, 1996-2007
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Conclusions

• IIHS ratings of young driver licensing laws line up well 

with fatal crash experience

• Individual components of laws are beneficial

– 1 year licensing age delay, 1 year permit age delay, and 

strong nighttime and passenger restrictions on beginning 

drivers have substantial benefits

– After the effects of any related delay in licensure were 

accounted for, an increase in the minimum learner’s permit 

holding period showed no effect on fatal crash rates

– An increase in required practice driving hours did not 

appear to have an independent effect on fatal crash rates
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Highway Loss Data Institute graduated licensing 
study

• Data include licensed drivers only; permit stage drivers not 

present

• All states except New Jersey and Massachusetts

• Vehicles up to 3 years old during calendar years 1996-2006

• Collision claim frequencies by state and year for rated drivers 

16-17

• Claim frequencies for ages 35-55 used as a covariate to control              

for state collision trends, etc.
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Predicted percent reduction in collision 
claim frequencies
16-17 year-olds, by graduated licensing law rating
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Predicted percent reduction in collision 
claim frequencies
Rated drivers 16-17 years old, by graduated licensing law component
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Current Colorado laws versus potential 
improvements

current 

Colorado 

laws

potential 

improvement

minimum learner’s permit age 15 16

minimum intermediate license age 16 16,6

hours of certified driving 50 no change

night driving restriction once licensed midnight 9 or 10 pm

teen passengers allowed once licensed 0 no change
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Percent reduction in 16-year-old drivers’ fatal crashes 
per capita for potential changes in Colorado laws

minimum permit age of 16 versus 15 20

minimum intermediate license age                        

of 16,6 versus 16
10

night restriction of 10 pm versus midnight 8

night restriction of 9 pm versus midnight 12

combined effect of minimum permit age 16;                      

minimum intermediate license age 16,6; and 

10 pm night restriction

34
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Young drivers and cellphones
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It starts young!
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Cell phones and crash risk

• Police crash reports do not reliably document drivers’ phone use

• Two controlled studies link talking on a phone directly to 

involvement in a crash

– Crash-involved driver cellphone use verified from phone billing 

records

– Canadian study found 4-fold increased risk of property-damage 

crashes when talking on phone

– Study of Australian drivers found 4-fold increased risk of injury crash 

when talking on phone
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Statewide bans on hand-held phones
July 2009
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Cellphone bans for teenage drivers
July 2009
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North Carolina’s cellphone restriction for teen drivers
Effective December 1, 2006

• Prohibits use of any telecommunications device 

including text messaging by drivers younger than 18 

• Levies $25 fine and 6-month delay before advancing  

to next licensing level

• Excludes calls for emergencies or to parents, 

guardians, or spouses
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Teenage drivers observed using cellphones as they 
left school at the end of the day
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teenagers parents

know about law 64% 39%

approve of law 74% 95%

believe law being           

enforced fairly often/a lot
22% 13%

if teenager has cellphone, 

parent restricts teenager’s 

phone use while driving

66% 88%

Parents’ and teenagers’ views about cellphone law 
and parental restrictions
After law
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Conclusions

• Cellphone use increases crash risk, and the risk is similar for 

hand-held and hands-free phones

• Laws targeting teenage drivers’ phone use are difficult for police 

officers to enforce

• Parents also may find cellphone restrictions harder to enforce 

than nighttime driving or other restrictions

• Primary enforcement laws applying to all phones and all drivers 

make most sense, based on evidence

• Passage of laws is the first step, but compliance will likely be 

low without publicized enforcement

• Effects of laws on crashes unknown
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Special issue:

teen drivers

May 7, 2009



www.iihs.org

Crashes by license status and months of licensure
Per 10,000 learner/licensed drivers

months of licensure
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video 

camera

computer 

chip

cellphone 

GPS

Would consider using 32 51 48

If no, why not?

trust teen 62 69 63

invasion of privacy 33 6 26

won’t improve driving 4 21 12

expense 19 3 16

Percent of parents willing to use in-vehicle 
monitoring devices
3-state survey, 2006
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Technology

• Shoebox-size black box in vehicle cargo area, GPS, satellite 

modem, and small speaker box beneath dashboard

• Records location and miles driven

• Detects

– All sudden braking and all sudden acceleration (longitudinal 

deceleration/acceleration more than 0.5 g)

– Driver not using belt

– Speed 2.5 mph faster than limit 

– Speed more than 10 mph faster than limit
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www.teendriverstudy.com
Website with secure login, personal ID, and password
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Homepage shows recent trends in notifications 

Figures show recent trends in 

notifications for teen

Messages can be communicated to study 

participants through the website
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Notification of events where vehicle exceeded criteria 
for speeding, sudden acceleration, etc.

Customize view by selecting 

notification type or timeframe



www.iihs.org

Map shows locations of notifications

Click on blue speeding circles for more 

information about speed limit, vehicle’s 

average and top speed, etc.

Circles indicate where notifications occurred
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Study design

• Random assignment of 85 families to study and control groups

• Vehicle monitoring: 2 weeks baseline, 20 weeks alerts and 

website, 2 weeks post-treatment

• Before/after changes in driving behavior in study groups relative 

to control group

• Interviewed teenagers and parents after study about device and 

website use, perceived effects on behavior, attitudes, etc.
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Four study groups with in-vehicle 
monitoring system

• Alerts driver and immediately notifies website

• Alerts driver and 20 seconds later notifies website if 

behavior not corrected

• Notifies website but no in-vehicle alert

• Control group with monitoring but no alert or notification
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Interest level 

• Recruitment proceeded very slowly initially

– After several months of PTA presentations, advertisements in local 

papers, and recruitment at state DMVs, only a few teens had enrolled

– Recruitment picked up with $500 payment and letters to newly 

licensed Virginia teenagers

• After enrolling, most parents accessed the website infrequently

– After initiating an email “report card,” parents accessed the website 

even less frequently

– However, report cards appeared important for final results
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Effectiveness 

• Among control teen drivers (no alerts, no website) 

– Belt use tended to decrease over the 20 weeks of monitoring, but 

was never low (fewer than 10 percent of miles were driven unbelted)

– Both speeding and sudden accelerations/decelerations increased

• Belt use also was high in the other groups, and increased to 

virtually 100 percent of miles during the 20 week study

• Speeding and sudden acceleration/deceleration were more 

difficult to change

– No experimental group affected both speeding and sudden 

acceleration to a significant extent

– The group with the most consistently good results received in-vehicle 

alerts with the opportunity to correct their behavior before website 

notification and the parents received report cards
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Percent of teens who reacted in various ways to 
in-vehicle alerts 

alerts changed the way they drove 86

some alerts undeserved 88

alerts distracted them from           

driving safely
31

did something to drown out alerts 64
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Percent of parents who reacted in various ways to 
website information

ever checked website 97

checked website regularly 70

checked website less in last month than in first 78

experienced difficulties using website 43

said device/website helped them talk to their 

teens about driving behavior
97
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Did you drive more safely because device was in 
your vehicle?
Teen survey

yes no

alert and web 95% 5%

alert then web 75% 25%

web only 81% 19%

control 35% 65%

total 72% 28%



www.iihs.org

Overall views about system

• Parents thought the most effective system would be an 

in-vehicle alert with immediate website notification; 

teens preferred conditional notification

• Virtually all parents would recommend this or a similar 

device to other parents of teen drivers
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Dedicated to reducing deaths, injuries,
and property damage on the highway


